A Paper Bird- Why I’m Not Charlie

-I do not agree with what you have to say but I'll defend to the death your right to say it- Voltaire quote on ReadersWriters Journal

“To abhor what was done to the victims, though, is not the same as to become them. This is true on the simplest level: I cannot occupy someone else’s selfhood, share someone else’s death. This is also true on a moral level: I cannot appropriate the dangers they faced or the suffering they underwent, I cannot colonize their experience, and it is arrogant to make out that I can. It wouldn’t be necessary to say this, except the flood of hashtags and avatars and social-media posturing proclaiming #JeSuisCharlie overwhelms distinctions and elides the point.”

READ MORE

 

2 thoughts on “A Paper Bird- Why I’m Not Charlie

Leave Your Thoughts...

