Q&A with Christine Mclean, Author of “Becoming the Best You: Ten Pressure Points that Lead to a Successful Life

Becoming the Best YouIn her new book,  Becoming the Best You – Ten Pressure Points That Lead to a Successful Life, author Christine Mclean explores how stress can create opportunities for growth and self improvement. The book goes through the 10 pressure points, from the heart through the mind to patience and the will, and explains how you can use pressure in these areas to transform your life into the one you want.

Q: You say in the description of your book, “Some of the best things in life, such as diamonds, are produced in moments of strain and pressure.”  Was there a particular strain or pressure in your own life that led you to want to share your experiences with others?

A: My life has been filled with several challenges. All my life I wanted to be a doctor. However, my dreams were trashed when my father blatantly told me that there was no money to send me to medical school. Although I was raised by my mother and grandmother, my dad was the main financial provider. So, if he said no then that was it. For a long time I was utterly disappointed with not being good enough for a full scholarship. I have also struggled with low self esteem and suicidal thoughts from the time I was a teenager. These and other challenges have forced me to reflect on who I am and what I can do to become a better person.  My thoughts, observations, and knowledge I have garnered from my own reading led me to creating this book.

Q: When you write, do you follow a particular schedule, have daily goals, write in spurts or pace yourself?  Essentially, what is your writing process?

A: I work with deadlines. If I say that I want to get my book published by x date, I put in the amount of work necessary daily to ensure that this goal is accomplished. However, I also have to be inspired to write. So, if I feel my brain running out of ideas, I stop for awhile and tackle it again the following day.

Author Christine Mclean

Mclean says her book is designed to help readers become the best version of themselves.

Q: What did you find hardest about the process of getting your book published?

A: Publishing the book is not a challenge really. For this book I used Lulu as my publisher and their process is not difficult to follow. The greatest challenge of self-publishing is publicity. It is one thing to get your book on an e-book distribution chain, but it is an entirely different thing to attract people to it.  Marketing is a frustrating experience. It’s even worse when you are as broke as I am and can’t afford to hire a marketing expert.

Q: Do you have any favorite authors/authors who you were influenced by?

A: My favorite self-help author is John C. Maxwell. Years ago an old friend of mine gave me two John Maxwell books: The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership and The 17 Indisputable Laws of Teamwork. These books changed my perspective on leadership and helped me to be more of a team-player.

Q: Name a book you wish you had written.

A: I really want to write a book about the type of relationship I want with my dad. I even have a title in my head that I am going to revamp. There are so many people out there who don’t have strong bonds with their fathers. I hope to eventually write a book that reaches out to them.

Q: Do you have suggestions for new writers, either on writing or getting published?

A: My suggestion for new writers is to choose your publisher carefully. Lulu doesn’t offer the flexibility that some other publishers do. If you want to have free book promotions and limited time reduced prices then Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP) may be what’s best for you.

Q: What do you think of the popularity of self-publishing?

A: There are a plethora of talented writers in the world. Self-publishing has moved the restriction that has been placed on these authors. It has opened up a world of possibilities since each aspect of the process is completely free. They also have the ability to offer extremely low prices and reach a global audience with the use of e-books. Self-publishing is something the world has needed for a very long time.

Q: If you could tell readers one thing about your book, what would it be?

A: Becoming the Best You will open your eyes to a world of possibilities. It will truly cause you to reflect and make some necessary changes. Your money won’t be wasted. It truly is a worthwhile read.


Buy Becoming the Best You by Christine Mclean

Christine uses her blog to share valuable advice on relationships, self esteem and inspiration.  Visit Christine’s blog.  Or connect with her on Twitter.

One thought on “Q&A with Christine Mclean, Author of “Becoming the Best You: Ten Pressure Points that Lead to a Successful Life

Leave Your Thoughts...

